The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
666 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Here are photos of all of my Nigerian does with a 12 hour full udder. I would really appreciate it to hear your thoughts on their udders, so I have a better idea of who to breed to them to improve their kids udders. I am really determined to improve udders in my Nigerians. Deeply appreciated. Thank you!

P.S. The first three (Jasmine, Stardust, Honeysuckle) are does who are on their 4th, 3rd and 2nd freshening, respectably. The last two (Willow, Skye) does are first fresheners. Thank you.

Attachments

·
Registered
471 Posts
I'll give it a try, but I'm not an expert.

Doe #1
Excellent Medial, Very Good Capacity
Teat Placement not great, but not too terrible
Needs more Rear Udder Attachment, and Fore Udder could be smoother, and she could use some more attachments to hold her udder more tightly to her body.
All in all, not a bad udder IMO.

Doe #2
Capacity is good, Medial isn't bad but her udder is lopsided. (kids?)
Needs more Rear Udder attachment
Teat Placement is not ideal, and her Fore Udder needs capacity and attachment.
Not an ideal udder, but you could do worse.

Doe #3
Basically the same as Doe #2
Capacity good, Medial fair,
Needs more rear udder attachment
Teat placement less than ideal, Fore Udder needs more capacity.
Her udder is not the best, but not the worst either.

Doe #4
Capacity pretty good for a FF
Needs more Medial and attachment all around, and smoother, more capacious Fore Udder. Her udder could see some improvement, attachments get weaker with age.

Doe #5
Excellent Udder Capacity, Very Good area of attachment,
Very Good teat placement, Fore Udder looks pretty good,
Could use more Rear Udder height.
Excellent udder for a FF.

I hope I haven't been too negative...I am super picky about udders, and this is how I would judge them if they were my girls. I'm not trying to be discouraging at all, and I hope I haven't come across that way.