Udder opinions

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by cyanne, Mar 20, 2010.

1. cyanne

cyanne Senior Member

Okay, so Ruby kidded with twin bucklings and we are trying to decide if her udder is nice enough to sell them as bucks or if they need to be given the big green cheerio. What do you guys think?

These pics are of her about 4 wks fresh with 15 hrs of milk in her udder.

Her dam is MCH Little Rascals Emerald *D and her sire is Piddlin Acres BZ Cowboy Boots.

2. Idahodreamer

Idahodreamer Senior Member

From what I can tell of her udder from the pics >warning, I am not a pro<,
    I would buy a buck from you!!!!!!!!!!! :drool:
    Very nice and high, very wide, and those teats!! :drool: :love:
    What are the kids' pedigrees? Did you breed her to a buck who's dam is proven?
    ;) I personally think you should keep them as bucks--- from what I can see, she has a LOT goin' for her there. :thumbsup:

3. cyanne

cyanne Senior Member

Oops, forgot to mention, she was bred to my buck, Piddlin Acres BD Whata Beau. His dam is Piddlin Acres BZ Whata Diva. She is not a finished champion, yet, but has great conformation and a lovely, well attached udder.

You can see pics of her on the Piddlin Acre's site here:

http://www.piddlinacres.com/milkers.htm

Ruby's dam, Emerald, is on that page as well, closer to the top. Ruby's sire, Cowboy Boots was sold, but you can see pics of him under Reference Bucks at the bottom of this page:

http://www.piddlinacres.com/bucks.htm

This is a pic of my buck, Beau...not a great pic since he is not clipped and was being uncooperative and kept tucking his butt in because I had him cornered in the pen:

http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak ... 8146_n.jpg

4. Epona142

Epona142 The farm that Hope began

May 25, 2008
    Madisonville, TX
    I would buy a buckling from that doe in a heartbeat if I could afford it :D

5. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA