The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Udder? Update - there's milk!

Hello everyone :)

So on the 20th we got two rescued goats. They are both does, in pretty bad condition, but we're feeding them up and they are improving.

One of the does is Giselle. She is the fatter of the two goats and also appears to be older. I'm guessing she's rather mature based on the impressive size of her horns and the fact that she has all her teeth but they are fairly worn, spaced and dirty, but I'm far from a goat expert.

I noticed when she arrived that she had a fairly large udder. It is hard to tell if it's gotten bigger or stayed the same... It feels a bit like my lactating cow's udder when she has been milked - soft and bouncy. The thing is, I'm not sure if that means she's pregnant, has had kids recently or she simply has a fleshy udder from many previous kiddings. What do you think?

Any thoughts would be appreciated! ^_^

Regards,
Tamara

·
Registered
626 Posts
When did u get her? If its been a few days and you havnt milked her, she is eaither drying up or pregnant. And by the look of her horns she is an older doe.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
As I said in the original post, we got Giselle and another doe, along with a sheep, on the 20th of August. So it's been 12 days.

Their story was a bit confusing as we got them from a woman who was the neighbour of the man who originally owned (and neglected) them. There was a buck, who belonged to the man, involved at some point as the woman's own goats kidded some time ago, so the man got rid of the buck. The woman had already sold her own goats and kids when we contacted her.