umn...need a little help here

Discussion in 'Other Pets' started by sixshooterfarm, Feb 5, 2008.

1. sixshooterfarm

sixshooterfarm New Member

Oct 18, 2007
    Valley Springs, Ca
    Ok so my miniature pinscher finally whelped, three little babies, birth was absolutly normal like last time, all puppies healthy and happy. Well today the mom started pooping blood, and I mean BLOOD, it was bright dark red blood. There was poop in her kennel and it was very mucousy, I am thinking worms.... What can I give her that will be safe for puppies since they will get it through the milk. Will Valbazen work?

2. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas
    I would take her to the vet - or at least a fecal to the vet. She could have ruptured something in her bowel during birth.

Typically a worm overload will not produce blood like that.

What is her temp? Is she eating and drinking? What is her CRT???

I was a small animal vet tech prior to working here. So these are all the start of the questions - LOL

When did she whelp?

3. sixshooterfarm

Oct 18, 2007
    Valley Springs, Ca