The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm still pretty new to all of this. I have four 10 month old doelings (Boer/Nubian/Nigerian mixes) who we keep for brushers. They have access to an acre of forage, and we move their fence frequently. They also have free access to hay, minerals, and baking soda. It's a good life for a goat, I tell you what.

They get grain rations nightly. I keep their grain in 2 separate containers for easy carrying. Yesterday, I fed them the last of one container. Tonight, I went to get my 2nd container, but it was empty, too. I stupidly forgot to buy more feed.

I rushed out to the feed store, but they were out of my feed. I went to another in the next town. They were out, too. So I grabbed what they had: Dumor pellets.

Switching feed suddenly = bad, I know. Is there anything I can do to mitigate any problems they might experience? I usually give probiotics, too.

TIA. I won't make that mistake again!

·
8,501 Posts
Since they are brush goats, they never actually eat the same food twice- Each browsing brings new things to them. So, I would guess that switching feed wouldn't be
as big a problem for your goats as someone that only feeds a certain type of hay every day and the same grain- as in a dry lotted herd. I wouldn't maybe give as much as
you usually do, say if you give 2 scoops a night, maybe only give 1 tonight and gradually increase it.

If you think that the grain you usually get may be in short supply, mix the Dumor pellets with your regular feed (when you get it) then, if you have to add or subtract types of feed,
there actually will be no change.

After you do feed the pellets, just keep half an eye on them, to make sure no one gets a belly ache, but, I really don't think you will have any problem.

·
Registered
2,551 Posts