UPDATE Help Injured Leg from Knee Down

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Zach08, Feb 9, 2011.

1. Zach08

Zach08 New Member

Jan 10, 2011
    SEE LATEST POST My wether (Pancho) has a bad case of ear mites and have been treating for about a week with NU-STOCK which is an all purpose mite killer for dogs, cats, goats, and cows. The mites seem to be getting better but are not gone yet. This morning i woke up and was feeding him and he is moving very slow and is limping. There is no scrap, lesion, or cut from what i can tell and he shows no pain when i put pressure on the leg. It is his front right leg. Do ear mites cause weakness or limping? I laid him down and he acted as if he could not get up due to weakness in his legs or leg. I am very new to goats and am very worried but i don't even know where to start. He is not running around and moving around like he was two days ago, and move with a general slowness and just doesn't seem to have any energy. Thanks for all your help in advance! My email is [email protected] if you would rather email.

2. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Re: Please Help Ear Mites and Weakness in Legs

Check his hooves, between the toes as well as under the dew claws... see if theres any irritations there, scabbing, oozing etc. Also check for any areas on the sole of the hoof and heel that may be sensitive.

Be sure he continues eating and drinking, provide him lotas of good hay and water, if he loses his appetite, there are other ways to help him.

BTW,,,WELCOME!

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California

No worries there... mites can't cause leg pain...

Is he getting loose salt and minerals for goats?

Do you think he may of got slammed?

Is his knee swollen?

What are you feeding him?

Is he peeing?

4. cdtrum

cdtrum New Member

Aug 25, 2008
    Northern Indiana