The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
This is my first post. I'm new to goats and have 2 milkers, one doeling app 6 mos old. When I put them up at night (2 separate pens for the does) the kid keeps stealing too much milk. She stopped awhile but is getting big enough to push the does around. I think they gave up at night. The pens aren't large enough for them to keep her away..

Is there any hazard to putting a crate in the pen with the one she's bonded to (neither are her mom, she came as company for the Nigerian) at night? Any legs getting caught or so forth in an unsupervised crate??

and if this is ok.... how long before she leaves them alone lol

·
Registered
31,073 Posts
So to understand, You have two milkers and a 6 month old unrelated doe? The 6 month old steals milk or pushes the milkers away? Are the milkers smaller than the 6 month old? With two pens..are they side by side? Could the milkers share one and the 6 month ild go in the other?

Reactions: Pepper

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So to understand, You have two milkers and a 6 month old unrelated doe? The 6 month old steals milk or pushes the milkers away? Are the milkers smaller than the 6 month old? With two pens..are they side by side? Could the milkers share one and the 6 month ild go in the other?
I keep the two separate due to size. Alpine and Nigerian. The doeling is with the Nigerian (related by aunt lol) The night pens are 8 X 8 each... they free range all day. The does have a greater chance of escape in the day lol

·
Registered
31,073 Posts
I have both nigies and standard goats. They get along well even if penned. Does the Alpine bully the nigie or have you not been able to see how they do together in the pen? Or how would the 6 month do with the alpine?

·
Registered
31,073 Posts
I guess i should answer your actual question lol..