The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
I’m new to goats. I have a background in small animal critical care (vet tech for very ill dogs and cats) and lived on a cattle ranch and have doctored large animals at home but I’ve never been around goats...
I bought a 3 goats from a friend who raises goats and he also gave me a baby that he weaned the day he gave her to me. The baby he told me should be okay on alfalfa. They have been here about a week and she has been less active then the kid still on her mom but eats hay great. Her belly seems to be getting pretty larger though (not bloated) and this morning she was completely week and will only stand if I stand her up. My friend raises lots of goats so I took his advice and didn’t do much research until she got ill. Looking back on pictures from the breeder/my friend I think she is only 5 weeks old so she was weaned too early.
I got her to take a bottle and after a few min of teaching her how to use it she sucked it down (1.5 cups) her fever was 106.4 so I gave her a shot of byomycin (only injectable ab I had because my vet friend told me her goat friends keep it on hand) and banamine. Fever has resolved and is high normal at 103. I’m feeding her every 4 hours (1.5 cups) but she is still very weak. I also gave her a paste with electrolytes and colostrum.
Her stool is some what hard but she has pooped three times today and urinated once so far. Her abdomen is doughy and not full of air. She does seem very thirsty but I’m giving her water slowly as she wants to suck the whole bowl down and I don’t want her to get too much too fast.
the bag of goat milk replacer says she should get 6-8 cups of milk a day but at this point I think she was starving and I don’t want to give her too much to fast.