Vitamins and minerals

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Boers4ever, Jul 14, 2020.

1. Boers4ever

Boers4ever Well-Known Member

Jun 28, 2020
    East Texas
    Hello! I have a herd of Boer does and a buck. They all look kind of skinny and bony. Especially around their hip and tail bones. Some of the does just kidded about 5 weeks ago. I figured that it’s a mineral or vitamin deficiency of some sort. They are on pasture and meat goat feed, with hay and alfalfa. I’ve heard that some minerals have to be given with vitamin E. Is this true? I’m new to goats so any help with what kinds of minerals and vitamins to give would be greatly appreciated!!

2. NigerianDwarfOwner707

NigerianDwarfOwner707 Well-Known Member

May 17, 2018
    East Coast, USA
    How are their FAMACHA scores?

I would fecal test them.

Mineral deficiencies are not usually only weight loss.

Post some photos so we can identify deficiencies.

You should have a good loose mineral, that’s all they need for starters. Sweetlix Meat Maker is really good, Purina Goat Mineral is ok, mannapro Goat Mineral is okay, Purina Wind and rain Cattle Mineral is ok.

Selenium needs to be given with vitamin e - but oral selenium supplements already have it in them! :)

Goataddict likes this.

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    Bo-se has Selenium and vit E in it already, to help absorb the selenium quicker.

A good loose mineral, will have all the good stuff in it and you do not have to add any.

However, if I have a doe who is not dropping her afterbirth, I know she is deficient and I will give my big doe 2 cc's Bo-se shot and 2 vit E gel tabs, snip the top and squirt it in their mouth.

Boers4ever likes this.
  4. Boers4ever

Jun 28, 2020
    East Texas
    Thank you! I picked up some loose minerals today.

toth boer goats likes this.
  5. NigerianDwarfOwner707

May 17, 2018
    East Coast, USA
    Which ones?

6. Boers4ever