Wasting Hay!

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by goatmama2, May 10, 2009.

1. goatmama2

goatmama2 New Member

Oct 20, 2007
    Upstate New York
    Hi All, I use the hay racks from Hoegger's and like them, but the waste is killing me. They pull all the hay out and scatter it, and I think I lose about half of what they're being fed. It's good hay, and expensive! I would love to see what other folks do for hayracks. I am a good carpenter and can follow plans...does anyone have ideas on good feeders? Thanks! Brooke

2. cdtrum

cdtrum New Member

Aug 25, 2008
    Northern Indiana
    Good luck....if you find one or figure one out......PLEASE SHARE!

3. redneck_acres

redneck_acres New Member

Oct 17, 2007
    Idaho
    I dont have a picture of one at the moment-but we use those key hole feeders and the left over stems and such we clean out of the bunk and feed to the calves and bucks. Most of the time it all goes to the calves/steers. My dad even came up with the idea of making a smaller keyhole feeder for me when I had the minis-now we just use them for the lambs and baby goats.

4. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    OH I hate all the waste. When we put hay in feeders they throw it all out to get to the leafs on the bottom, then they look at you like "You expect me to eat hay off the ground"? I can not use key hole feeders, my goat have to have horns.

5. goatmama2

goatmama2 New Member

Oct 20, 2007
    Upstate New York
    I have a couple with horns, too. I will look around and see what I can find...I'll share if I come across anything really good!

6. capriola-nd

capriola-nd New Member

Jul 6, 2008
    Northwest Oregon