The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
395 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 2 grade Mini Nubian doelings as most of you know. I've been trying to figure out all the ins and outs of showing them in 4-H. I found out they needed tattooed to be shown. So contacted a director and I will paste the response below. I know I'm new to goats and will/have probably made some mistakes but, now I feel like a bad person for purchasing my girls. I wanted good family milkers, something small enough for my boys to handle but still with a descent production that's why I went with Minis. There is no way I could have afforded the 300-400.00 for for good registered does at this point. When I was in 4-H our horses didn't have to be AQHA world qualifiers to still go compete, and have fun. I guess that's what I though 4-H was about, goats included. Maybe I'm reading too much into it...but I feel like I just got a slap on the wrist even though I did everything right by my goats. My vet disbudded them at 10 days old, I've done lots of research and asked for lots of help on here. I'm going to have them tested for CAE etc. before I ever breed them...just a vent guys. Sorry. :(

Response:

You would choose a tattoo - since they are not registered with a breed registry it can be anything you want - including the date of birth or year of birth is good.You can ask your 4H leader to help you with the tattooing process.