What age do goats reach full size

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by trailhound, Sep 15, 2008.

1. trailhound

trailhound Guest

Mar 22, 2008
    My first three goats are all around 7 months right now and still seem small. The wethers are both Alpines and the doe is a Nubian/Apine/? cross. At what age do they reach full size?

Thanks!
    Andrea, who has been gone because school started again (I am a teacher)

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    A goat takes a couple years to reach its full size. by 2 years they are just about full size. by 4 years they are fully mature.

Goats go through several growth spirts so dont worry if your goats are small now, they will grow

ratfarm likes this.

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    stacey is totally correct...that is exactly what I would of said... :thumb: :greengrin:

4. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Your kids are just fine, I'm sure they are getting quality feed an TLC....I do know that with the mini's they seem to stop growing at around 5 months and then boom they have a growth spurt at 8 months and again at a year old...they don't really get to their adult size til around 3 years and continue to "fill out" til 4. Right now I have a 7 month old Nigi/ Pygmy cross buck that has stalled in growth as is the 6 month old doeling, though she is smaller than he is they just seem to take their time in "growing up" :thumb:

5. Ivy

Ivy Guest

Aug 9, 2008
    JFI
    With Boers you would not want to see growth spurts.
    You want a steady growth in a Boer.

6. StaceyRosado

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    well the question was not about the boer breed so I just also went on my experience which is with dairy goats :greengrin:

7. crocee

crocee New Member

Jul 25, 2008
    Northeast Arkansas