What could this be?

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by PattiXmas, Jan 6, 2010.

1. PattiXmas

PattiXmas New Member

Jan 1, 2010
    We had taken both girls to be bred in October. They are due in mid-March. While out doing chores today, I noticed Daisy had some discharge on her, ummmm, girl part. She seemed to be fine otherwise, eating normal, pooping normal. She did seem to want more loving today then normal and stood close to me while I petted her. I have a pic - I did wipe it off and it had a consistency of snot, but was a very clear color. Is this normal? Could she have not gotten bred and was in heat recently? I feel down on her left side underbelly is it seems just as tight/hard as Snowy's, just not as big. Any ideas?

[​IMG]

Please don't laugh, we are new to this.

2. Gumtree

Gumtree Lurking Aussie

Aug 15, 2009
    S.E. Qld Australia
    i'm no expert, but one of my does had discharge on and off for about a month before she kidded, dunno why, i wasn't much, :scratch:

3. BetterBuckskins

BetterBuckskins New Member

Feb 1, 2009
    Taxachusetts
    Could be in heat, any tail wagging? Only way to know for sure is blood test.

4. PattiXmas

PattiXmas New Member

Jan 1, 2010
    No tail wagging. I had to have one of the kids hold her tail up while I took the picture. Hoping that it's normal pregnancy stuff, we really want babies!!!

5. Idahodreamer

Idahodreamer Senior Member

Is the buck you bred her to close by? Or any buck for that matter? If so, you could take a rag and wipe it across the buck and then hang it up in her pen. If she sticks close tothe rag, she's in heat.

6. 4kids

4kids New Member

Jul 21, 2009
    Do goats sometimes discharge the first month after being bred around the time they would normally go into heat? I also have a doe with a bit of discharge but no heat signs. I saw her bred more than once by the buck.

7. PattiXmas

PattiXmas New Member

Jan 1, 2010