The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I’m new to this so I was wondering what should I start out with purebred or commercial,
What’s the advantage to each one , my goal is to have quality kids to sale for 4-H .
Any advice would be greatly appreciate

·
Registered
1,662 Posts
What breed are you looking to buy? Generally, registered stock is more valuable than commercial. However, if you’re selling wethers, papers are quite useless. 4H may want papers for breeding stock, but I’m not entirely sure.

Biggest piece of advice is to purchase a good quality animal regardless. If there’s a commercial doe that comes from a healthy and reputable herd for a good price, then it’ll be worth more to you than a registered doe that isn’t nearly as nice for more money.

·
Registered
14,606 Posts
Commercial show can be just as valuable as registered. The little girl that won two years ago with her market weather paid $2,500 for him. I thought this was insane (still do to be honest) since that’s what I paid for my buck but then I found out that these kids are not just buying animals simply for the fair but entering them in jackpots. That little girl won way more then $2,500 before it ever went to the fair. So there is definitely money to be made in the commercial show goats.
BUT IMO I would go with registered. You can always sell a registered animal as commercial but you can never sell a commercial as registered, so it gives you the option to play both sides of the field. If you are totally set on just 4H/FFA as buyers then look into fairs around you and see if they offer registered classes at the fair. The fairs around here are just now starting to offer them, which is very annoying since they have offered it to every other species for years now, but that’s a rant for another time ;)

·
Registered
1,662 Posts