What do you think of this buck?

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by Amos, Mar 18, 2011.

1. Amos

Amos New Member

Oct 2, 2008
    Minnesota
    I need a buck for my 2010 girls.. I'd like to continue to breed some quality animals.. Am hoping to get into showing eventually.

I'm looking at the first Nubian buck on this page;
    http://www.poplarhillfarm.com/bucksale.asp

I contacted the breeder and she says he has filled out more since the picture was taken... I haven't committed because of the price though. I've paid more for a buck but for that price I'm kind of expecting more.. I'm not sure. I'm not that good at critiquing yet.. what does everyone else think?
    She said his dam had a great udder but got gangrene mastitis. There is a link for her photo, as well as this link http://www.poplarhillfarm.com/onyz.asp which shows three of her half sisters and sire.

Opinions?

2. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    To me...he's too level, doesn't have an uphill stance. Also...wether it was just the pic IDK..But theres something odd with his scrotum...it appears to have either a large split or theres only one teste.

3. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
  4. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    oh, looking at the wrong buck..wow, he's got something up with his testicles

5. Amos

Amos New Member

Oct 2, 2008
    Minnesota
    I thought the scrotum looked a little odd but I think it's just the picture. She didn't mention anything about it.. I kind of wanted higher DHIA numbers but what do I know?

I'd consider a Blissberry buck but I bought one out of Rockin' Robin and Most Wanted in 2009 and I'm still recovering from the cost. Lol. Well worth it but I can't spend that kind of $$ again.

6. Dover Farms

Dover Farms New Member

Oct 16, 2007
    NW Ohio