What does an early abort look like?

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by Dreamchaser, Feb 20, 2011.

1. Dreamchaser

Dreamchaser New Member

Oct 29, 2008
    Camp Verde, AZ
    I am wondering, because of one of my goats. It looks like she has some discharge that does not look normal, though I'm new to this so I don't know what normal is yet anyway... It looks darker, not sure if it is bloody. Just a little dried up drip coming from that area. ???

2. Coyote Night Acres

Coyote Night Acres New Member

Dec 26, 2010
    Missouri
    My doe that aborted early on due to big doe's being rough butting her had a brownish pink discharge first, then as it progressed it got bloody. Never seen a fetus, cause she wasn't that far along, but she acted as though she was getting ready to kid, just never went into active labor.

3. Dreamchaser

Dreamchaser New Member

Oct 29, 2008
    Camp Verde, AZ
    I don't mean to be gross, but does anyone have any photos of what the discharge looks like? I can only find photos of aborted fetuses on the internet. Not really helpful.

4. Coyote Night Acres

Coyote Night Acres New Member

Dec 26, 2010
    Missouri
    This was the only photo I managed to get while my doe was aborting. pic didn't come out very large when I posted it, but it's kinda like a pink brown color. This was early on, it got to be a lot more discharge and more blood mixed in, but it never was bright red blood though. I know they can all be a little different in discharge, this is just what my doe did, hope it helps

Attached Files:

5. 4hmama

4hmama New Member

Jan 9, 2009
    No. Central WV