The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have four Nigerian dwarf goats (3 does , 1 buckling )
I’ve had them for 2 weeks and I’m new to all this .

They’ve been eating alfalfa .
I read online that alfalfa isn’t ideal for bucks ( I don’t remember why ) , so I got them some grass hay .

None of them are into it .
For the alfalfa they would come running .
With the grass hay they take a few
Bites and leave it be .
The guy at the feed store said the only grass hay they had was Bermuda grass hay so that’s what I got .

What kind of hay is best ? What
Kind will they eat, other than just alfalfa.

Oat hay ??

·
8,168 Posts
Mine are stuck with grass hay, because that is all I have. Any alfalfa was drowned out this year. If I gave alfalfa, there is no way they would eat plain old grass hay, we've had that fight before. They lasted a couple days before they deigned to eat the common grass hay. When I had a regular barn full of alfalfa, everyone ate it, bucks, milking does, kids, yearlings. All did great on it.

Your goats will get hungry and eat the hay you have, but don't give alfalfa while you are trying to make them eat the grass hay. It's difficult to gradually switch from alfalfa to other hay, they would pick out the alfalfa and waste the rest.

·
Registered
4,120 Posts
Their natural feed is twigs and leaves. There are some toxic kinds, but many kinds you might be able to find close to your living place or your work? We had a list, but I do not remember where. Poplar, maple, apple, pine ...

Dwarf goats and males are extra in for overfeeding, that is why alfalfa is a bit too rich for them.

·
Registered
585 Posts
I have four Nigerian dwarf goats (3 does , 1 buckling )
I've had them for 2 weeks and I'm new to all this .

They've been eating alfalfa .
I read online that alfalfa isn't ideal for bucks ( I don't remember why ) , so I got them some grass hay .

None of them are into it .