What kind of ventilation for prefab shed?

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by Dylann, Jun 20, 2020.

1. Dylann

Dylann Member

Jun 20, 2020
    NY
    Hi all! Uber newbie here in upstate New York trying to get ready for some fuzzy new friends, so just in the planning phase currently. If I'm trying to get appropriate air ventilation (draft-free, dry, healthy air circulation) inside of a 200 square foot prefab shed (sample pic attached), which of the following would you recommend:

-one window on each side of the shed (allowing for a cross breeze) = 2 total
    -two windows on each side of the shed (allowing for a cross breeze) = 4 total
    -two windows only on one side of the shed on the south-facing side = 2 total
    -a cupola and vents all along the top of the shed with maybe one window
    -all of the above?!

There will be two sets of double doors open all day, but closed at night with all animals inside for safety. Just wondering if leaving the windows open at night would create an unhealthy draft during pretty heavy winters and it would be better to have vents all along the top that are always open? Thanks for any help - much appreciated!

Attached Files:

MadHouse likes this.
  2. Ashlynn

Ashlynn Well-Known Member

Sep 30, 2017
    Lutz, FL
    I would say vents towards the top of the shed and then one to two windows that can be closed if it gets too cold and drafty in winter, but open during the spring and summer.

3. Dylann

Dylann Member

Jun 20, 2020
    NY
    Thank you! That's really helpful. If we have two windows in the shed along with vents put in, do you think it would be better to have them both on the same wall (pic 1), or to have one on each side opposite of each other (pic 2)? iu.jpeg iu-2.jpeg ?

MadHouse likes this.
  4. Sfgwife

Sfgwife Well-Known Member

Feb 17, 2018
    North Cakalaki