What to do when a whether won't leave pregnant doe alone.

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by Richele, Jan 20, 2021.

1. Richele

Richele New Member

Aug 23, 2020
    Western North Carolina
    Hi, I'm new to having goats, but I just love them. I have two Nigerian Dwarfs one doe and one whether and also a Nubian that I bred to a Nigerian Dwarf buck. My little whether is about 7 months old, and he has started trying to mount my Nubian who is obviously pregnant. She is due in March. Should I separate him from my two does? I'm not sure what to do.

Also, is it normal for a ND to start acting offish? My doe used to be so friendly, but now she runs from us and is very skittish. I'm worried about what to do when she kids and I want to milk her. I've been trying to get her used to the milk stand, but she will sit down if I mess with her at all. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. Goats Rock

Goats Rock Member

Jun 20, 2011
    NE Ohio
    Is the wether a full wether? Is it possible that he has an undescended testicle, still up in his body? Pregnant does do release hormones that can mimic heat. Or, your wether is just being a pain in the neck kid growing up. They do mount each other to show who is dominant, playing and sometimes just being jerks! You may have to separate him from the doe who is preg.

Some does get hormonal and act standoff ish. Be there (if you can) when she kids and let her lick you as well as the baby. Their udders can be sensitive when preg. but after they kid, tend to be less sensitive. I wouldn't put her on the stand if she insists on sitting, that is just teaching her a bad habit. But, if you do have to put her up there, place a small hay bale under her, so she cannot sit!

3. Damfino

Damfino Well-Known Member

Dec 29, 2013
    Right behind you