whats your opion on milking a fisrt time freshner?

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by doneroamingacres, Apr 10, 2008.

1. doneroamingacres

doneroamingacres New Member

Jan 28, 2008
    Sayre,PA
    I'm new to the goat buisness and I've heard that people believe that you shouldn't milk a first time freshner. I'm milking my yearling Bailey and she seems to be milking fine. So what do you do or think? Should you milk a first time milker or start milking her the second year, and why? Thanks!
    Kelsey

2. morganslil1

morganslil1 New Member

Nov 12, 2007
    north carolina
    I'm milking mine but thats why I got into dairy goats.

3. sparks879

sparks879 New Member

i have heard that a lot as well. but you have to milkl her for the first time eventually. I have had does perfectly calm on the stand the first time they go on it and others that are jumping all over. i bottle raise all my kids, so i milk FF

beth

4. bigoakfarm

bigoakfarm New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Kentucky
    I've never heard that one. Has anybody told you why you shouldn't milk a FF? Seems like you would have wasted at least two years on a doe if you waited until her second freshening to milk her and then found out she wasn't a good milker. I've always milked my first fresheners anyway. :shrug:

Kristen

5. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    I milk FF and it seems to tame them down a bit too if they are on the wild side.

I see no reason not to :shrug:

She is there to milk, she is going to produce that milk - might as well enjoy it right :greengrin:

It will also help her with capacity

6. jBlaze

jBlaze New Member

Oct 9, 2007
    Oregon
    Why ever not???!

The only thing I can think of why someone would say they never milk FF is because they are too lazy, or not raising goats for milk.

Myself, I have goats because I like them, not for the milk, so I am happy to dam raise whenever I can. :) (but only knowing CAE neg!)