The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got an almost 3 week old Boer/La Mancha cross who was dam raised to 5 days and never has taken to a bottle, we have been having some success with feeding from a bowl, but we lost her twin a few days ago.

Yesterday morning she started to show similar symptoms - back hunched, head down, no poop, swollen belly. I dosed her with Milk of Magnesia & started her on goat electrolytes about every hour 24 hours ago. When can I start adding milk again? Do I need to redose with M.O.M. at any time? Should I be adding baking soda as I restart the milk? I am concerned because she has been so difficult to feed - and I'm worried about her missing out on even more nutrition.

I am very upset as this is my first year raising goats & these were to be my first bottle babies, but the breeder didn't let me know that they were not started on a bottle right off - I wanted them to get the colostrum so she just left them with the mother. Later she said that she couldn't get them to take milk except from the mother. It's been a battle from day one. I won't ever be doing this again. Hard lesson learned.

Does anyone have advice about when to start the milk again? I am not using a replacer.

Thank you!
Joyceb

·
Premium Member
23,224 Posts
I've used the packets of "Prolyte Plus" which has probiotics as well as electrolytes and the directions had said to start milk again after 24 hours. You had said it hadn't pooed, is it peeing? I do hope you can get help with someone more experienced with bottle babies...all my kids are dam raised.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sorry - yes she has been peeing regularly, I see her 3+ times a day, usually right after a feed. She did have 2 small, well formed, BMs yesterday - these were the first I'd seen in 2 days, but she is in the pasture and I'm generally out there 5x a day (trying to get her to eat).