Where does one find goats? and more Qs

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by mcarp, Jan 27, 2015.

1. mcarp

mcarp New Member

Jan 25, 2015
    Hi! I am new to goats and am looking for a couple (maybe 4) kids to keep on my homestead. I have done a tiny bit of research around breeds and I'm really interested in mini nubians. I couldn't care less about papers, but I do want to be able to kid a doe in a year or two to try my hand at milk. I am looking for any advice, but also, more importantly, where do I find these goats? Everywhere I look seems to selling purebred goats with papers, and I have to believe its cheeper to go the other way. Also, how much money should I put aside to spend on and care for these goats (organically) for say a year? Thanks in advance for any help.

-I am soooooo excited to join the goat-keeping world. :)

2. lovinglife

lovinglife Active Member

Jun 6, 2013
    Southern Idaho
    It is a fun world for sure! We need more information, like where you are, how big their area will be, available browse...

3. janeen128

janeen128 Well-Known Member

Dec 31, 2012
    Edgewood, WA
    Yep location would be good, as prices vary.

4. Escapegoat

Escapegoat Member

Dec 24, 2014
    Not to burst your bubble but Mini Nubians are sort of an up-and-coming breed, I am having a hard time finding papered/ registered does for sale near me, much less any that are cheap or paperless :/ however there are plenty of dairy crosses of all sizes that are good pruducers that can be found at a reasonable price. But then I don't know your area...
    Don't have enough info on your plans yet to tell you anything on cost of upkeep other this; Always more than you think! :grin: Anyway welcome to the wonderful world of goats!

5. mcarp

mcarp New Member

Jan 25, 2015