The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am struggling here! I am new to goats and this will be my first goat purchase! I am torn between these two.
#1 is Cheyenne. She is a 3 year old nubian.

image-1183547253.jpg

image-441432999.jpg

#2 is Ziva. She is a 4 year old alpine.

image-1983093784.jpg

Here are some pics of her kids

image-898709691.jpg

image-1766606949.jpg

They are both $200 and registered. Doe #2 is being sold to me with the promise of being bred in the fall to the same buck who sired the kids in the pictures above. Also, Ziva has been shown in showmanship and is very friendly (says the owner) and Cheyenne is a little bit skittish but still friendly.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
29,236 Posts
whats your plans for goats? The nubian has very little milk in her udder at least in that picture, is it full?

from the side view of the alpine her rear udder looks like it is lacking but she looks more capacious.

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The nubian's owner says she is from good lineage but she just doesnt produce a ton of milk.

I will try to get a photo of the alpine's udder.

·
Goat Girl
2,018 Posts
Do you know how much milk each is giving? If you are wanting milk production, it looks like the Alpine is most likely the better milker. What are their registered names? Are they at the same place? If they are you could always go look at both of them and then make a decision. I have bought several does that were "skittish", bring them home and they won't leave me alone.

·
I'm watching you
22,272 Posts
The Nubian has un-cared for hooves and there's something I don't like about her front knees.

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
They are not at the same place. And I also have noticed her knees.