Who uses Molly's Herbal?

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by JessaLynn, Jan 3, 2011.

1. JessaLynn

JessaLynn New Member

Aug 29, 2009
    NW Ohio
    I have switched our dewormer program to Molly's Herbal Wormer for all of our animals and wanted to here some input from those who have used it awhile.What has been the outcome and do you use it once a week like directed? I'm curious to see the success stories in this.I love useing herbs so this was perfect! I bought a book on naturally caring for your animals and describes all the ways you can treat your pets without useing harmful chemicals. I'm not going to find a holistic vet here so trying to do as much research as I can. Any advice or helpful tips you have learned?

2. FunnyRiverFarm

FunnyRiverFarm New Member

Sep 13, 2008
    Hudson, MI
    I have been using this system for over 2 years now. I use formula #2 as directed unless we are having a stretch of particularly wet weather. If we have more than 3 days in a row of rain/drizzle I will do an extra dose of formula #2. During the spring and summer I give formula #1 every month rather than every 6-8 weeks. During the late fall and winter I give formula #1 every 6 weeks or so and substitute with formula #2 for the pregnant does.

For a goat dealing with a heavier load of parasites I will give formula #1 twice a day for up 5 days. If that doesn't take care of the problem I use chemical wormer.

I always use a chemical wormer on does the day they kid.

Last year I also used the herbal system for cocci prevention in kids as directed. I had no cases of scours and the kids grew like never before. I do keep conventional cocci meds on hand and would use them in the case of an accute attack. I don't think the herbs would be fast-acting enough in an emergency but seem to work for prevention.