The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I have 2 Nigerian Dwarf Goats, and my HOA is starting to complain about it... Well, I've decided to make a list of reasons why goats make better pets than dogs ( I have nothing against dogs, I currently have three and I'm a dog trainer) I thought this might be a fun topic, and possibly you guys would want to participate... So, enjoy!

·
Registered
1,319 Posts
they can be housebroken esp N dwarfs. and mistakes are easily cleaned up
they dont make as much noise.
they dont bite
they are easily trained
they like to watch tv

·
Goatless goat momma
7,887 Posts
they're free hedge trimmers, they don't smell, great way to get rid of some kitchen scraps

most of all, goats are cute and cuddly, and those who don't agree are heartless! lol

·
I'm not addicted - I'm in love!
5,019 Posts
I guess you mean the advantages of a goat over a dog? Because I wouldn't say either one would make a better pet...they are just different, and they both have advantages and disadvantages.

You can get milk, fiber, or meat, as well as work from them.
They have wonderful, curious, funny personalities and are much cuter than most dogs! (I love dogs - but even I will admit that much!)
Unlike dogs, they don't carry any parasites that humans can get - at least none that I know of.
A well-mannered goat is every bit as safe as a well-mannered dog - and they are MUCH easier to teach manners to than most dogs (IME anyway).

By HOA I guess you mean homeowner's association??
What reasons are they giving for the complaints?

Some people...it really bothers me that farms are so looked down on.
Okay everybody, let's ban all farm animals from the earth and see what happens! And while we're at it, maybe we should ban the farms and the farmers too. :doh:

·
Registered
462 Posts
Their poop doesn't smell as bad
They don't shed as much
They don't bite or scratch