The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 3-4 yr old nanny that was with a buck from June 26 to July 31. She is in a barn stall with my 2 other does since Nov 25th. The last 2 days she has been crying all the time. Quits for about an hour or two and then starts back up.

I am beginning to doubt she is even pregnant.

She has plenty of hay and water. I have her on camera and watch her wander around and cry. When I (physically) look in at her she comes over and stops crying.

I am thinking if the crying gets real loud and doesn't quit then maybe she is in labor? Most of the time it is a soft/medium cry.

I am fairly new at all this.

Judy in Indiana

· Raising Nigerian Dwarf DAIRY Goats, registered wit
3,693 Posts
What breed is she? Nubians cry A LOT for no reason. They are just loud. So if she's a Nubian, that's just what they do.

· Registered
640 Posts
My FF pygmy/ nigerian cross screamed for 12 hours before she had her little guy. Nothing could console her, but it was obvious to me she was going to have him that day. Her bag was huge overnight and her teats were filling with milk.

· Administrator
96,111 Posts
Does she have an udder going on? According to your breeding schedule, she should be kidding soon. Does she look sloppy in the vulva, her tailhead dropped, any discharge or ligs gone or softening? then, she is going to kid soon.

If not, she may be in heat too.

Does she have a buddy?

· Registered
134 Posts