winter kidding

Discussion in 'Meat Market' started by sabine, Aug 14, 2009.

1. sabine

sabine New Member

Jul 2, 2009
    Hello all from Canada. Have not been on here to much to busy haying! So it looks like I'm probably going to be kidding Dec and Jan. We live in pretty cold winters. How hardy are goats for kidding in the winter. Do I need an insulated facility and if a have more than one doe going at once do they all have to be separated. We have some fair size nice 3 way shelters is that good enough of not? Do the does ever get their babies mixed up? How do you know what kid goes to what mom? I'm going to have probably 10 plus does going at once! I have never done this before!

2. KW Farms

KW Farms Moderator Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA
    I'm not a big fan of winter kiddings. If you don't have a nice big insulated barn, I don't recommend breeding for winter kids, but if they're already bred then I would make sure you have secure shelters with no draft and no place for snow or rain to get in. I also would hook up a couple heat lamps. New babies do very poorly in cold weather and can freeze very quickly once born.

Does can get their babies mixed up if they have them at the same time or around the same time...like within a day or two. Most does won't do that though. However, I have had does that will let any baby nurse and will clean them and whatnot. If you have 10 does kidding then I would get small kitten collars or string with a certain color for each "set" and once they're born put it on the babies and mom and that way you can tell who came from who.

Also, I would try putting maybe 2 does together per pen at least one month before and try and pair them up with goats they like so they won't fight all the time. And that should work fine, but I probably wouldn't just put them all together with only a few shelters.

3. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.