worm advice

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by crow, Jan 2, 2010.

1. crow

crow New Member

Sep 6, 2009
    Iowa
    Hello, anybody else using all natural wormer/meds ect..? I have been using these methods for a couple years now and I have one doe that just seems to be skinny no matter what I do. all my other does are kinda fatties.lol. she eats, I give her grain, still just feels so boney, I bought some ivermectin injectable. and do I understand right that in goats you put it in their mouths???? I aint gonna do this till Ive gotton some convermation on this. that just sounds not right. but I think she may have worms, I have done poop test but didnt see much that looked like trouble, (poop is really cool lookin under scope though,) has anyone used this stuff before? any advice would be great. thanks folks.

2. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    I personally don't use the Ivermectin injectible, I use the paste. Yes, most do use the injectable orally...I believe there is a dose for it here viewtopic.php?f=26&t=1218

I think it's easier on the goat to give it orally because it burns so much as an injection.

3. crow

crow New Member

Sep 6, 2009
    Iowa
    Im sorry I plumb forgot to tell yall she is preg. (I hope.) incase that matters. thanks.

4. cdtrum

cdtrum New Member

Aug 25, 2008
    Northern Indiana
    I tried a herbal wormer for a while and it just did not work, I have used Ivermectin Injectable orally.....1cc per 20lbs is what I did.......have you checked her lower eye membranes for good coloring, should be really pink to red. I know that in the winter barber pole worm eggs don't always show up on fecals because they are not laying eggs. Up north barber poles are not to much a problem in the winter, but down south I know they can still have issues with them because it doesn't get cold enough... There are other cool weather worms that can cause problems up here though.