The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!
I'm having some serious issues with worms in my one goat. My goat Clark always seems to have a great deal of worms, whereas his brother seems fine. Yesterday, I checked their eyelids and Clark's was really pale. I wormed him so much yesterday and so much today and his eyelid color is no better.

I have no experience with intestinal parasites in goats so I am worried. He shows no other signs of parasites that I am noticing. No diarrhea, loss of appetite, bottle jaw, etc.

Should I worm him during the night as well?

Could there be some other causes of pale FAMACHA's? The other day, before I checked eye color, my poor goats got attacked by a dog so I was thinking shock?

Thank you for any suggestions!

·
Super Moderator
32,284 Posts
It takes time for anemia to recover. I would keep doing acute herbal dosing and start anemia protocol right away.
Red cell (6 cc per 100#) or injectable iron ( 4 cc per 100#) daily for a week then once a week until color improves. Be sure to have epinephrine or large dose of Benadryl ready incase he reacts to injectable if you choose that.
Daily b 12
30cc of 50/50 Acv/water once daily

When were they attacked? Any wounds? Stress from that definitely can cause parasite bloom

Reactions: MadHouse

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
When were they attacked? Any wounds? Stress from that definitely can cause parasite bloom
They were attacked the day before yesterday. I had just taken them out for a walk when a dog ran at them. The dog was trapped and retrieved so I resumed my walk. A minute later, the dog came running back and attacked my goats again. They were fairly unharmed, however Clark did get a brush burn. I was thinking maybe shock caused pale eyelid color. Should I worm during the night too?

·
Super Moderator
32,284 Posts