The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to goats and ive never had a sick one before. She is 1 1/2 years old and has a 4 month old kid. We just finished a new field so we put them in there and a few days later she stared having scours and i just thought it might be from the new grass but 2 days later she started loosing weight. I called the neighbors that are more experienced with goats and they were out of wormer but had safeguard (i think thats what it's called) cow wormer on hand and said that should help her until i go get a different kind.

This was today and im going to go get wormer tomorrow. What is the recommend brand, ive heard ivermectin is good but when i looked on the TSC website it was only a lot of different kinds of cattle wormer. Is that what it's supposed to be? The only goat wormer i saw was safeguard goat wormer but ive heard some bad reviews on that. What else should i get her?

Oh and since her kid is pretty much just eating feed and grass i separated them. She isn't gloomy looking she's as perky as always she just looks bad and dosent eat as much feed as usual :( but she will graze alot still.

Attachments

·
Registered
114 Posts
I use Inervectimen Horse dewormer. It is apple flavored and comes in a stick.

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think thats what we use for our horses so i could probably get that easy...how well does it work for yours?

·
Registered
30,614 Posts
for wormer I would give valbazen to the kid goat..1 cc per 10# oral and mom can have it too as long as she isnt pregnant....or use Ivomec plus 1 cc per 40# sub Q...for mom....
if mom is in bad shape do to worms I would do wormer 3 times ten days apart and once more at 30 days to give her a clean system ...give probiotics to help her gut since she had the runs...
Also get a temp on her to be sure nothing else is going on...is she eating drinking pooping berries now and drinking plenty?