Wow, you're pretty good...for a girl...

Discussion in 'The Chatter Box' started by FunnyRiverFarm, Oct 15, 2008.

1. FunnyRiverFarm

FunnyRiverFarm New Member

Sep 13, 2008
    Hudson, MI
    Maybe I am being oversensitive, but it bugs the crap out of me to hear people say this! I have been playing guitar for eight years now...and if I had a quarter for everytime I heard this comment I swear I would be a millionaire!

This is a back-handed compliment! I know the people saying it (usually men, but not always) are trying to be nice...but it's annoying nonetheless...

I know most of the people on here are female...has anyone else had an experience with this?

2. Sonrise Farm

Sonrise Farm Guest

Sep 18, 2008
    I don't play the guitar I just sing . . . happens to me all the time . . . what makes me mad is when the guys sort of smirk and say, "Hey Talitha, why not do a special performance for us?" Sometimes I could just . . . :hammer:. I hope to put out a album someday. :) but that's just a nice dream.

3. heathersboers

heathersboers New Member

Sep 5, 2008
    Wilson N.C.
    I have gotten that a lot- I also play guitar and work on classic cars- i get that all the time- and actually look at it as a compliment- there aren't that many girls that play guitar, - let alone completely redo an interior of a car, and prep it for paint- It just shows how much they know....-fact is-you are probably better than half the guys out there :thumb:

4. MissMM

MissMM New Member

Oct 22, 2007
    McGregor, MN
    I got the same thing when I worked in tech support..... people would assume that because I'm female, I wouldn't know how to fix their problem! Occasionally, I'd get those who would ask to speak w/my supervisor, after they asked if he was a man :angry: I'd tell them that if they had a computer problem they wanted fixed, the last person they'd want to speak w/is my boss cause all he knew how to do was fill out paperwork! And most of that wasn't even on the computer........