The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
766 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, we had a discussion about him and this skin thing a month or so ago. It was determined he has flaky skin, not lice. He's been getting TruCare Zinc/Manganese, Flaxseed Oil for a while, then Wheat Germ Oil & Cod Liver Oil the last couple weeks. Now, the skin on his upper back has white scales that seem to flake off. I have a photo plus a photo of his lower back where the skin is normal. I don't think I have an accurate diagnosis. Look closely on 1st photo, you can see the scales. Ideas?

Normal skin:

·
Registered
401 Posts
I’m not an expert but that what my one goats skin looked like when he had mites but his wasn’t that thick looking, I used ivermectin injections, 1 cc per 33 pounds, one shot a week for 3 weeks, we had to do one shot a week for 6 weeks because he had them bad, but he is mostly healed up now, skin takes awhile to heal up perfect. Also garlic daily helps boost immune system which helps when they are dealing with mites, hopefully someone with more experience with mites and skin problems can chime in

·
Registered
31,071 Posts
Has he been treated for mites? We use ivomectin Injectable once a week for 3 weeks as well but at the rate of 1 cc per 40 pounds sub q. Sometimes a few rounds is needed for stubborn cases. Garlic never hurts 😉

·
Registered
31,071 Posts
Then I would do the ivomec. It might also help to treat topically with either nustock or MTG for horses. Both are sulfur based and will help get rid of the mites

·
Registered
766 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Then I would do the ivomec. It might also help to treat topically with either nustock or MTG for horses. Both are sulfur based and will help get rid of the mites
Okay, thanks. No harm in trying those. Will do. I just gave CDT and BoSe injections today, should I wait before injecting Ivomec? Or doesn't matter...

·
Registered
31,071 Posts