The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
2,081 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, my Nubian doe Maybel is supposed to kid on 2/8. She was born dec 2013 so this will be her first pregnancy. This is my first year dealing with dairy breeds and she's a smaller/more petite than my big ol' boer girls (who start showing that they are preggers very easily and have no problem letting me know about it). Would she be showing any signs yet or am I just jumping the gun on this? I haven't had a doe yet that has only had one kid so idk what size to be looking for I guess haha.

I'm kind of worried that she's not bred for 2/8...as she's not visibly putting on more weight. About when do their udders start growing? I've never really paid attention with my other girls because they turn into tanks and clearly look bred.

All my other girls have been with a buck since 11/8 and she's been in there with them, so she may be bred for 4/7 like my other does...not the end of the world. I was just hoping to have her in milk before everyone else starts to kid. Going off of last year, I had more triplets than twins, and would have liked to have her for backup.

·
Goat Girl
2,018 Posts
I've got a Saanen/Nubian cross due 2/18 that already has a handful sized udder. She has a bit of a belly, not huge but you can tell she is bred by looking at her. With your girl if she is only a month away she should be fairl puffy behind and should have some udder development.

·
Super Moderator
58,182 Posts
Can you post a picture of her back end with her tail up naturally and her lady parts showing along with udder?

·
Registered
2,081 Posts
Discussion Starter #5