The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The story on this might be a little long since there's a lot going on but as for questions, I really only have 2, the rest is just for fun, to talk about them, give some background (what I have anyway) & make sure I'm not totally screwing this up lol. The questions are 1) When should I let Chloe stop sleeping in the crate at night? 2) Is it true that grass will kill Marley? Here's the story:
I picked up my much anticipated goats a few days ago, a 4yo wether, Bambi...& a 4 day old doe, Marley..both are pygmies & we didn't intend to get a bottle baby just yet but..I was a goner when I saw her ;) The enclosure is large, w/lots of browse, grass, flowers, leaves, dead pine needles, roots, etc (no lilacs, rhodies or azaleas) but someone just told me that if Marley (the now 7 day old) eats grass it will kill her..is that true? I'm a newbie but the thought just blows my mind..if their mom's raise them, how do ppl keep the babies from eating the grass when mom does (for the record, she's not real interested in the grass, she seems to like the dead pine needles & tender little leaves of some of the wildflowers but I'm not positive she HASN'T eaten any grass at all). Marley is inside w/us a lot right now as she cant be unattended w/Bambi yet & is still on a bottle (plus w/the exception of yesterday & today it's been cold & rainy, no place for an infant), she's taking her bottle well, I mix 1 cup of warm water & 3/4 cup of save a kid 2x a day & she eats 4x (I cant do the math to break it down further but she eats 1/2 a bottle at a time so I think it's about right, hopefully I'm not over feeding...) & sometimes skips a feeding or eats a little less at a time..I dont force it. In her morning bottle I also add probios & she has 24/7 access to 1st cut hay..She also gets medicated pelleted food offered at least 2x a day w/mantapro? goat minerals but it seems EVERYTHING likes that stuff so I