The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to owning and caring for goats. Forgive my naivety. We’ve always had ponies and I am slowly downsizing. We only have one pony now with a Nigerian dwarf and a Nubian as paddock mates. The Nigerian dwarf began developing dry skin, which led to very thick crusty dry skin that we would massage off with MTG. The vet came out and didn’t give us any definitive answers. She seems to be getting worse and has lost a lot of hair on her neck, sides of her belly now, all 4 of her legs, and beginning on her face now. We keep her covered because we live in New England and it’s beginning to get cold. I’m beginning to think, based on research I’ve been doing, that she has a zinc deficiency. If I want to supplement and give her zinc tablets, how much would I give her? She’s about the size of a golden retriever I guess.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
58,830 Posts
This is an old thread. You might want to start your own so more people will see it.

That bad would say mites to me. Have you treated for lice or mites at all?

·
14,760 Posts
Welcome! I agree, this is an old thread and you might get better response for your situation with a new thread post.
However, I will second the thought on it being mites.
I'd have your vet do a skin scrape if possible to determine if it is or not.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
This is an old thread. You might want to start your own so more people will see it.

That bad would say mites to me. Have you treated for lice or mites at all?